Asian School Reviews

Search ESLwatch

Log in Register

Log in

Your trust is our top priority, institutes are not allowed to alter or remove their reviews.

Institute reviews can be submitted anonymously by employees, students, parents or even if you have had an interview. Read employee reviews and ratings on ESLwatch to decide if an institute is right for you.

 

"Lead by example and inspire with your review"

Did you know that 9/10 people will search for reviews in their own research, but will not take five minutes to help others by reviewing their own institute.

Korea, South in Asia (school): International English School - International School - South KoreaInternational English School is an international school located in Wonju, South Korea.

 

Address: Musil-ro 181, Wonju-si, Gangwon-do, 220-040, South Korea.

Website: International English School

 

 

 

 

27 customer reviews

4.6 out of 5 stars
  • 24
  • 0
  • 0
  • 0
  • 3
  • Experience
    90%
  • Professionalism
    90%
  • Work location
    96%
  • Living situation
    93%
  • Pay & benefits
    94%
  • Support & facilities
    91%
  • Health & safety
    91%
Reviewer
1 rating
3 helpful voted.
Move On
5 months ago.  ·  181
Institute Review
I enjoyed the idea of not having to make my own lesson plans since the same material was used by all teachers. At my previous schools I had to allocate extra time for lesson planning, but at IES I was able to focus on grading at the beginning and end of the day. However, my enjoyment was short lived as I soon found out that there was no flexibility in the lessons. Any sort of deviation resulted in being reprimanded by the head teacher. During your first few weeks you will learn that you must teach certain ideas that you don’t agree with even when you a native speaker were taught those same ideas in school and life. Everything you know will have to be shelved for the time being so that you are able to conform and make it through your contract. It won’t feel like you are teaching because you aren’t.
You will also have to combat the students’ boredom and potentially your own. I am fluent in a second language and this program just does not work for students or teachers. The material goes in circles. Lather, rinse and repeat. The students hate the material and it differs too much from what they are learning at their regular school so by the time they reach higher grade levels they leave IES and go to hagwons that will better prepare them for college entrance exams and even just everyday English.
Advice to Management
Change is good.
Institution Location
Musil-ro 181, Wonju-si, Gangwon-do, 220-040, South Korea
Relationship
Former Teacher
  • Experience
    20%
  • Professionalism
    10%
  • Work location
    50%
  • Living situation
    50%
  • Pay & benefits
    50%
  • Support & facilities
    40%
  • Health & safety
    40%
Show more
3 of 3 people found the following review helpful
Reviewer
1 rating
20 helpful voted.
WARNING WARNING WARNING
1 year ago
Institute Review
What claims to be the best English school in S.K. (serious) is actually far from that. While money seems to be the main motive here, this school has sent a number of students to American Universities, which is pretty much the only positive aspect of this institution.

Expect to be micromanaged and belittled while working here. Occasionally yelled at in front of students and other teachers for not putting pens away the right side up or touching playing cards wrong.

Looks like there is one real review here by a teacher and the rest by students; likely they were coerced into writing these reviews as this school is ran by fear of the head American teacher. I'm sure most potential teachers doing research will easily see past this facade and get the real gist of this place . Stay far away from this hagwon, It has dime a dozen benefits with severe cons (namely the head American teacher).

The pros
Cool teachers
Cool apartment
Free lunches
The cons
Being yelled at
Being belittled
Being micromanaged
The head teacher (he does the hiring)
Mass delusion
Advice to Management
Beyond help
Institution Location
Mushilro 181, Wonju-si, Gangwon-do, South Korea
  • Experience
    10%
  • Professionalism
    10%
  • Work location
    50%
  • Living situation
    20%
  • Pay & benefits
    50%
  • Support & facilities
    10%
  • Health & safety
    10%
Show more
20 of 22 people found the following review helpful
Reviewer
1 rating
21 helpful voted.
The School that makes my life abundant.
1 year ago
Institute Review
I’ve been at this school as a student for about nine years now. I can remember my attitude on my first day of school. I really didn’t want to study. But as the time went by, I started to enjoy studying English here. I think the main reason for this change is this school’s environment. International English School provided me the feeling of studying abroad. I was hearing English everywhere. In school, I could listen to tapes recorded by the teachers at the school. They have a library of books for outside reading and books on tape. They also have lots of movies and TV shows for students. In addition, we study math, science and social studies in English. By learning these subjects in English, I have been able to scrutinize more books, journals and so on.

On holidays, such as Valentine’s Day, Halloween and Christmas, we always have a little cultural experience. In class, we read a book titled “Arthur’s Halloween.” In the book there was candy corn, which is hard to get in Korea, so I was unaware of it. But during class, the Wonjangnim brought us some candy corn so we could try it. It was so sweet. To be honest, it was too sweet. There are so many stories to tell and fun times to remember.

The school is filled with such good memories and love and I think it is the best place to learn English with good friends and teachers.

Now I’m studying at Seoul National University, and as I major in art, I go to museums and galleries a lot. After I study the exhibition in a museum or a gallery, I always buy a book which is usually a catalogue of the exhibition or reviews and journals on the artist. There is always English, and sometimes I find some mistranslation between the English and the Korean. When I read the text in English, it is rather a different context. The context of the world is different around the world and being bilingual gives me greater insight.


I’m still studying at International English School and I feel that by learning a language in a natural way I can have a more abundant life.
The pros
Good facility and vast resources for students
Institution Location
Wonju, Korea
Relationship
I'm a student of international english school!
  • Experience
    100%
  • Professionalism
    100%
  • Work location
    100%
  • Living situation
    100%
  • Pay & benefits
    100%
  • Support & facilities
    100%
  • Health & safety
    100%
Show more
21 of 26 people found the following review helpful
Reviewer
1 rating
29 helpful voted.
My Golden Ticket
1 year ago
Institute Review
I went to this academy since I was in third grade. As I grew older and realized the necessity for learning English, I was grateful for learning English at this academy. Wonjangnim always takes care of the students, and the head teacher helps us use perfect English.
Because of their passion and effort, now I am very good at English than when I first came to this academy - When I first came to this academy, I didn't now what does 'wrist' mean, but now I can communicate in English and also come to think of going to a foreign university.
I appreciate them so much and I have no doubt that English I learned in this academy would be my golden ticket.
Institution Location
Musil-ro 181, Wonju-si, Gangwon-do, 220-040, South Korea
  • Experience
    100%
  • Professionalism
    100%
  • Work location
    100%
  • Living situation
    100%
  • Pay & benefits
    100%
  • Support & facilities
    100%
  • Health & safety
    100%
Show more
29 of 35 people found the following review helpful
Reviewer
1 rating
65 helpful voted.
More Than Just a School for Me
1 year ago
Institute Review
I first went to this school in 2007, when I was 6 years old. More than 10 years have passed since then. That little 6-year-old kid has become a high school student now and is still going to this school. I want to write something since I’m a pupil of International English School, who has spent more than half of my life with this school.

I have lots of things to say about this school and I first want to talk about the teachers. I actually appreciate them, especially the Wonjangnim and the head teacher. I think I am really lucky that I got to know them and learn from them. I don’t think I’ll ever meet teachers who are so warm and really care for the students the way they do.

When I was 9 years old, my mom started to go to work, and couldn’t drive me to my English school anymore. My parents thought that my brother and I were too young to go to English school by ourselves, and decided to move right next to the school. It’s a quite unusual thing to do. I think my parents had a strong belief in this school to help us. I was too young to think about those kinds of things.

After moving, my brother and I were alone in the house until my parents got back home. We both slept a lot, and didn’t want to study. Mom and dad weren’t there to make us go to school and study, so we often went to school late, or took a nap. After a few days doing that, we couldn’t do that anymore because every time we were late, the Wonjangnim came to our house, woke us up, and took us to school. I remember that I didn’t like that then because I didn’t want to study, but now, I really appreciate her for the affection she has shown us.

The head teacher is one of the teachers I most appreciate. I learned lots of things from him - English, of course, but also many things about life. He always cares about students. He encourages students to work harder. He helps students to believe in themselves. When students have a hard time, he’s the one who convinces them to keep trying and helps them to cheer up again. He means a lot to me. He’s the one who gave the English golden ticket to me and who made me dream about a bigger world, about becoming a better, best me. He’s not only a great teacher for me, but also, a good friend.
Institution Location
Musilro 181, Wonju, Kangwondo, South Korea.
  • Experience
    100%
  • Professionalism
    100%
  • Work location
    100%
  • Living situation
    100%
  • Pay & benefits
    100%
  • Support & facilities
    100%
  • Health & safety
    100%
Show more
65 of 73 people found the following review helpful
Reviewer
1 rating
75 helpful voted.
I think I am lucky to study here
1 year ago
Institute Review
I’ve been studying at International English School for about 8 years, and it has really helped to improve my English speaking, listening, writing and especially the understanding of English culture.

The teachers who work here are all very nice to the students and give them lots of information which helps them. Also, the principal is very kind and friendly and really cares for us. She treats the students like her own children. She is very honest and her main interest is how much we learn. The head teacher is very concerned about us. He always mentions the words which we’re using wrong and tries to correct them.

I think I am lucky to learn English at International English School.
Institution Location
Wonju
Relationship
Student
  • Experience
    100%
  • Professionalism
    100%
  • Work location
    100%
  • Living situation
    100%
  • Pay & benefits
    100%
  • Support & facilities
    100%
  • Health & safety
    100%
Show more
75 of 83 people found the following review helpful
Reviewer
1 rating
76 helpful voted.
I have never regretted going to this school
1 year ago
Institute Review
I am a middle school student who has been going to International English School since I was in second grade. Since I graduated from elementary school, I have been thinking a lot about keeping going to this school, because in Korean middle school students need to study English only for the tests, but it's not real English. So, I have never regretted going to this school.

International English School is a great place to study because it's really clean and everything you need to study is there - like books, videos, and cassettes which students can use anytime they want to study themselves. Even on weekends, the teachers help students to study.

I think the greatest part of International English School is that teachers teach students sincerely. They talk to students in a friendly way, and they give advice on how to study, how to find your talent, and how to get into college etc. Especially, the Wonjangnim and the head teacher always take care of the students and the school.

When I first came to this school, I thought I didn't need English except for school tests. So it was not fun, it was stressful. But after I learned English there, I learned how English is important, so I decided to try to keep improving my English. International English School helped me in many ways and I am very grateful for it. I can confidently say that International English School is one of the best.

Institution Location
Musilro 181, Wonju, Kangwondo, 26447, South Korea
  • Experience
    100%
  • Professionalism
    100%
  • Work location
    100%
  • Living situation
    100%
  • Pay & benefits
    100%
  • Support & facilities
    100%
  • Health & safety
    100%
Show more
76 of 83 people found the following review helpful
Reviewer
1 rating
77 helpful voted.
International English School: What makes me special
1 year ago
Institute Review
I live in Wonju, a small city in Korea and I am a normal student who goes to Korean high school. However, as I mentioned in title, this English school makes me special and different from other students.

This school tries hard to teach English as a second language, not just a subject to study. I think that is a very important point. Since I was young, I was able to have wide experience through books, songs, recorded tapes, TV shows, movies etc... From this education, I have also learned about cultures in English speaking countries.

Everyone knows that they help us with true heart. Of course the place is nice and comfortable, and the teachers not only teach us, but they truly care about our futures. I had a lot of help from them in dreaming of becoming an architect. It is really nice to have people who worry and care about me, along with my parents and friends. Sometimes, I even feel like this school is my second home.

Institution Location
Musil-ro 181, Wonju-si, Gangwon-do, 220-040, South Korea
Relationship
student
  • Experience
    100%
  • Professionalism
    100%
  • Work location
    100%
  • Living situation
    100%
  • Pay & benefits
    100%
  • Support & facilities
    100%
  • Health & safety
    100%
Show more
77 of 85 people found the following review helpful
Reviewer
1 rating
76 helpful voted.
The best one in the country
1 year ago
Institute Review
I have been attending International English School for over six years, and I have always thought it was a fortunate opportunity to live in Wonju, so that I could enroll in the best English school in Korea and study with great, enthusiastic teachers who have the knowledge to teach kids from kindergarten to high school.

The school offers various classes to students in English, math, science, social studies, etc. They have additional classes for students who need to catch up in their regular classes and advanced classes for smart students with the eagerness to study more intensely.

The Wonjangnim and teachers are highly interested in each of the students. Wonderful teachers, a great curriculum including marvelous storybooks, and the excellent condition of the school such as always-clean classrooms and a library filled with great books and encyclopedias make the school the best one in the country.
Institution Location
Musil-ro 181, Wonju-si, Gangwon-do, 220-040, South Korea.
  • Experience
    100%
  • Professionalism
    100%
  • Work location
    100%
  • Living situation
    100%
  • Pay & benefits
    100%
  • Support & facilities
    100%
  • Health & safety
    100%
Show more
76 of 84 people found the following review helpful

Adding Your institution is Easy as 1-2-3

Simply add your institution, the form only takes a few minutes.

Register yourself on the website confirm that you are a human. Wait for confirmation via email.

Once you login to the website you can then review your chosen institution.

Recently Added

The British School is a private school located in Wotton-Under-Edge, United Kingdom. Address: Wortley Road, Wotton-Under-Edge, Gloucestershire, GL12 7JU, United...
British International School Madinaty (BISM) is an international school located in Cairo, Egypt. Address: Talaat Mostafa Road, Madinaty City, Suez...
Shanghai Jinshan World Foreign Language School (Jinshn WFLS) is a private school located in Shanghai, China. Address: 1799 longhao road,...
National Tsing Hua University is a research university located in Hsinchu, Taiwan. Address: No. 101, Section 2, Kuang-Fu Road, Hsinchu,...
Tsinghua University is an university located in Beijing, China. Address: Haidian District, Beijing, 100084, P. R. China. Website: Tsinghua University...
GD Goenka Signature School is a private school located in Gurugram, India. Address: Opp. GD GOENKA UNIVERSITY, Sohna Road, Gurugram,...
Britannia International School (BIS) is an international school located in Guangzhou, China. Address: No. 4 Chuangjia Road, Jinshazhou, Baiyun District,...

Connect With Us Today

We believe it’s important to stay closely connected with the great individuals and organizations in the ESL/EFL industry, and what better way than through social media? We’re constantly posting updates online and participating in the buzz.

Please consider connecting with us on the following social media websites to stay up-to-date and connected!

 

Select a Country

Have you added your Institution!

Add your institution for review!

Thank for using ESLwatch, just one more thing before you go. Have you added your institution for review?

Does not matter if it is a school, college, university, recruiter, company, individual or online website that you have had dealings with in the past or present. The review form only takes a few minutes and you do not have to review the institution yourself.

 

Add Your Institution for Review

x